If I knew then…

I was always a bit of a wild child in high school.  I very much lived for the moment and didn’t think too far ahead about the consequences or repercussions of my actions.  Thankfully I never got into any lasting trouble and no one was ever seriously hurt.  The one thing I would try to change would be my attitude towards my mother.  She didn’t understand my rebellion and I didn’t understand her need to control every aspect of my life, at least it felt that way at the time.  I see now that she wasn’t so concerned with the actions I was taking as much as where they might lead me.

The one thing I am proud of is the friendships I developed during that time.  They are truly lasting relationships that have required loyalty and dedication to maintain.  It hasn’t always been easy, especially when you leave high school and people start to spread further and further apart.  However, I still keep in touch with all those who really matter.

I don’t think I’d do anything different to change the person I am today.   I think with the help of friends and family I’ve made mostly positive decisions in my youth and also enough mistakes to be a well rounded, open minded person.  I am happy and confident in myself and I don’t think you can ask for much more.

Leave a Reply

