Put the phone down!

Texting and walking is an issue. I’ve seen people on campus get run into by bikers and nearly walk right in front of cars because they are too wrapped up in their texting conversations to bother looking up.

I think this is just another example of how people are too dependent on technology.  If they can’t wait until they are in an appropriate place to check their text messages, they shouldn’t have a phone.  I think parents should make a bigger deal of teaching these things to their children before turning them loose with a cell phone.  However, young people are not the only ones guilty of this behavior.

I’m pretty good about leaving my phone in the car if I’m at a place I came to enjoy the company of other people.  I think that’s important too. I think PR could be helpful by promoting real time socialization over constant communication via texting.

Leave a Reply

